About PI

James Bowie

James Bowie

Professor Emeritus
(No Longer Taking Students/Postdocs)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
UCLA-DOE Institute
bowie (AT) mbi.ucla.edu


Founder Invizyne Technologies

B.A. Carleton College 1981; Ph.D. MIT 1989; Life Sciences Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow (1989-92); American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellow (1992-3); Assistant Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry, UCLA (1993-2000); Associate Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry, UCLA (2000-04); Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry (2004-present); Vice Chair Chemistry & Biochemistry (2013-19); Protein Society Executive Council (2006-12); Protein Society President (20013-15); Editorial Board of Journal of Molecular Biology (2006-19), Biochemistry (2006-), Protein Science (2000-) and Proteins (1997-2005); Advisory Board Swedish Biomembrane Center (2005-10); Co-chair FASEB summer conference on Mol. Biophys. Cell. Membranes (2006&08);. Co-chair Gordon Conference on Proteins (2010&12); Co-chair of Biophysical Society Thematic Meeting on Membrane Protein folding (2013); Founder and co-chair of Gordon Conference of Membrane Protein Folding (2015); Member NIH BBM study section(2006-10): Co-founder of Invizyne Technologies, Inc: www.invizyne.com (2019)

Honors and Awards

2020 Stein&Moore Award of the Protein Society
2019 Paul M. Horowitz Memorial Lecturer, UT San Antonio
2018 Fellow of the Biophysical Society Award
2018 Choh Hao Li Memorial Lecturer, Academia Sinica
2018 UCLA Postdoctoral Society Postdoc Mentoring Award Finalist
2017 Biophysical Society Anatrace Membrane Protein Award
2016 Higgs Lecture at Kings College, London
2012 Elected President of the Protein Society for 2013-14
2012 UCLA Society of Postdoctoral Scholars Postdoctoral Mentoring Award
2009 Dreyfus Foundation Postdoc Mentor in Envir. Chem.
2008 Re-elected to Protein Society Executive Council
2008 Elected Fellow of AAAS
2007 Elected Chair, 2009&11 Gordon Conference on Proteins
2006 Elected to the Protein Society Executive Council

2004 Elected Chair, 2006&8 FASEB Conference on Mol. Biophys. of Cell. Membranes
2001 Leukemia and Lymphoma Society Scholar
1998 McCoy Award in Chemistry
1994 NSF National Young Investigator
1994 Pew Scholar
1992 American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellowship
1989 Life Sciences Research Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship
1981 Distinction in Chemistry, Carleton College
1981 Elected to Phi Beta Kappa